2018 Battleground Races – House of Representatives

Ballotpedia has identified 79 U.S. House battleground races: 70 Republican seats and nine Democratic seats. Heading into the elections, Republicans have a 235-193 majority with seven vacancies. To win a majority, Democrats need to have a net gain of 23 Republican seats.

The Democratic Party is well-positioned to gain seats, according to a 100-year historical analysis of House elections conducted by Ballotpedia and political scientist Jacob Smith. From 1918 to 2016, the president’s party lost an average of 29 seats in midterm elections. In the 20 percent of elections where the president lost the most seats—which Ballotpedia defined as wave elections—his party lost at least 48 seats.

The party of a newly elected president gained seats in the House in the following midterm only twice. Democrats gained nine seats in 1934 following Franklin D. Roosevelt’s (D) first presidential election in 1932, and Republicans gained eight seats in 2002 following George W. Bush’s (R) election to the presidency in 2000.

Source https://ballotpedia.org/U.S._House_battlegrounds,_2018

United States House Battleground Races
District Incumbent
Alaska’s at-large Republican Party Don Young
Arkansas’ 2nd Republican Party French Hill
Arizona’s 1st Democratic Party Tom O’Halleran
Arizona’s 2nd Republican Party Martha McSally
California’s 8th Republican Party Paul Cook
California’s 10th Republican Party Jeff Denham
California’s 16th Democratic Party Jim Costa
California’s 22nd Republican Party Devin Nunes
California’s 25th Republican Party Stephen Knight
California’s 39th Republican Party Edward Royce
California’s 45th Republican Party Mimi Walters
California’s 48th Republican Party Dana Rohrabacher
California’s 49th Republican Party Darrell Issa
California’s 50th Republican Party Duncan Hunter
Colorado’s 6th Republican Party Mike Coffman
Florida’s 16th Republican Party Vern Buchanan
Florida’s 18th Republican Party Brian Mast
Florida’s 25th Republican Party Mario Diaz-Balart
Florida’s 26th Republican Party Carlos Curbelo
Florida’s 27th Republican Party Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Georgia’s 6th Republican Party Karen Handel
Georgia’s 7th Republican Party Rob Woodall
Illinois’ 6th Republican Party Peter Roskam
Illinois’ 12th Republican Party Mike Bost
Illinois’ 13th Republican Party Rodney Davis
Illinois’ 14th Republican Party Randy Hultgren
Iowa’s 1st Republican Party Rod Blum
Iowa’s 3rd Republican Party David Young
Kansas’ 2nd Republican Party Lynn Jenkins
Kansas’ 3rd Republican Party Kevin Yoder
Kentucky’s 6th Republican Party Andy Barr
Maine’s 2nd Republican Party Bruce Poliquin
Michigan’s 8th Republican Party Mike Bishop
Michigan’s 11th Republican Party David Trott
Minnesota’s 1st Democratic Party Tim Walz
Minnesota’s 2nd Republican Party Jason Lewis
Minnesota’s 3rd Republican Party Erik Paulsen
Minnesota’s 8th Democratic Party Rick Nolan
Montana’s at-large Republican Party Greg Gianforte
Nebraska’s 2nd Republican Party Don Bacon
Nevada’s 3rd Democratic Party Jacky Rosen
Nevada’s 4th Democratic Party Ruben Kihuen
New Hampshire’s 1st Democratic Party Carol Shea-Porter
New Jersey’s 2nd Republican Party Frank LoBiondo
New Jersey’s 3rd Republican Party Tom MacArthur
New Jersey’s 7th Republican Party Leonard Lance
New Jersey’s 11th Republican Party Rodney Frelinghuysen
New Mexico’s 2nd Republican Party Steve Pearce
New York’s 11th Republican Party Dan Donovan
New York’s 19th Republican Party John Faso
New York’s 22nd Republican Party Claudia Tenney
New York’s 27th Republican Party Chris Collins
North Carolina’s 2nd Republican Party George Holding
North Carolina’s 9th Republican Party Robert Pittenger
North Carolina’s 13th Republican Party Ted Budd
Ohio’s 1st Republican Party Steve Chabot
Ohio’s 7th Republican Party Bob Gibbs
Ohio’s 12th Republican Party Troy Balderson
Pennsylvania’s 1st Republican Party Brian Fitzpatrick
Pennsylvania’s 5th Republican Party Vacant
Pennsylvania’s 6th Republican Party Ryan Costello
Pennsylvania’s 7th Republican Party Vacant
Pennsylvania’s 14th Democratic Party Conor Lamb
Pennsylvania’s 17th Republican Party Keith Rothfus
South Carolina’s 1st Republican Party Mark Sanford
Texas’ 7th Republican Party John Culberson
Texas’ 23rd Republican Party Will Hurd
Texas’ 32nd Republican Party Pete Sessions
Utah’s 4th Republican Party Mia Love
Virginia’s 2nd Republican Party Scott Taylor
Virginia’s 5th Republican Party Thomas Garrett
Virginia’s 7th Republican Party David Brat
Virginia’s 10th Republican Party Barbara Comstock
Washington’s 3rd Republican Party Jaime Herrera Beutler
Washington’s 5th Republican Party Cathy McMorris Rodgers
Washington’s 8th Republican Party Dave Reichert
Washington’s 9th Democratic Party Adam Smith
West Virginia’s 3rd Republican Party Evan Jenkins
Wisconsin’s 1st Republican Party Paul Ryan

Spread the word. Share this post!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow by Email
%d bloggers like this: